Obama Awards National Humanities Medal to Joyce Carol Oates

President Obama awarded the 2010 National Medal of Arts and National Humanities Medal to 20 honorees, including Joyce Carol Oates.

The National Humanities Medal, inaugurated in 1997, honors individuals or groups whose work has deepened the nation’s understanding of the humanities, broadened our citizens’ engagement with the humanities, or helped preserve and expand Americans’ access to important resources in the humanities.

The official citation for JCO reads:

Joyce Carol Oates for her contributions to American letters. The author of more than fifty novels, as well as short stories, poetry, and non-fiction, Oates has been honored with the National Book Award and the PEN/Malamud Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Short Story.

Here are profiles of all of the medal recipients, at the National Endowment for the Humanities web site.


This entry was posted in Awards, Joyce Carol Oates and tagged , by Randy Souther. Bookmark the permalink.

About Randy Souther

I’m a Reference Librarian at the University of San Francisco’s Gleeson Library, and I run the Joyce Carol Oates web site, Celestial Timepiece.

Be the first to like this post.

3 thoughts on “Obama Awards National Humanities Medal to Joyce Carol Oates









    Rate This


    Bravo. Well deserved.

  • Congratulations, Joyce Carol Oates! I have long been your BIG fan!


    Leave a Reply